Review: Ritter Sport Cornflakes

When my boss Andy first heard about this site, he was concerned there aren’t enough candy bars in the world to dedicate a whole blog to. I assured him that there are thousands of different candy bars and that it would take me years to get through the ones I already know about – let alone the thousands I’ve yet to discover.

At my local Target last night, I was reminded of just how many candy bars there are in the world when my girlfriend spotted one I had never seen before – a Ritter Sport with cornflakes in it. I obviously had to pick it up and even though I have a bucket full of bars at home waiting to be reviewed, I decided to eat this one next.

Structure
This is a square, 16 segment bar of molded milk chocolate with whole and crushed pieces of cornflakes incorporated throughout.

Texture
The cornflakes are surprisingly crunchy – much more so than their puffed rice counterparts. The bar breaks apart pretty easily though because there are so many cornflakes packed in. It’s easier to bite through than a regular piece of ordinary chocolate would be, which is nice because Ritter Sport bars are pretty thick.

Taste
Obviously, milk chocolate is the predominant flavor and it’s very good. You don’t really taste the cornflakes at all… at first. If you try really hard though, after the chocolate has subsided, you get a little bit of genuine cornflake taste. It’s interesting, definitely different from anything I’ve ever had.

Verdict
Cornflakes in chocolate is just unique enough that it caught my attention, but not so crazy that it’s a gimmick. This is a really good candy bar and I’d buy it again.

The whole cereal in chocolate thing got me thinking… what other cereals would work? Lucky Charms in white chocolate? Maybe Cinnamon Toast Crunch in milk chocolate? Cheerios in dark chocolate? Leave me some comments. Let me know if there are any cereals you think would be good to put in a candy bar.

5 Comments »

  1. cybele said

    I just ate one of these. I think it’s a fabulous bar (far and away better than the weak Hershey’s version recently introduced). The crunchy malty taste of the corn flakes is distinctive but doesn’t detract from the chocolate.

    (I was hoping they actually had this at Target when I was there, they were on sale for $1.50 each, but practically out of all the flavors I like. I ended up getting mine at Cost Plus World Market.)

  2. andyrankin said

    Thanks for giving me a bite! I thought it was great. The unsweetened (at least compared to say Frosted Flakes) taste of the Corn Flakes definitely came through and was quite tasty.

    As for your other question, how about Fruity Pebbles or Grape Nuts?

  3. Kevin Vigneault said

    @Cybele: Interesting, I hadn’t seen the Hershey’s with corn bits bar yet. Not surprising that Ritter chocolate is better than Hershey’s though.

    @Andy: Grape Nuts? According to Todd, isn’t that like eating your own teeth?

  4. Todd said

    Actually, it was others who accuse Grape Nuts of tasting (or, at least feeling) like teeth. I consume them almost daily, so envisioning them as teeth would kinda cut down on the appeal. They definitely might make for an interesting candy bar addition though.

    I’m thinking that if you could get a full serving of Total into a candy bar, you’d appeal to those who like to take in their vitamins in a more decadent fashion.

  5. Scott said

    I was actually involved in a big debate about this candy bar at my work the other day. I thought it was freak-nasty awful; two of my colleagues thought it was quite good.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment